One More Reason (Some) Americans Don’t Care About Kate Bush

Ann Powers

Kate Bush in 1978. Although the success she enjoyed in the U.K. didn't translate stateside, her influence is palpable on both sides of the pond. Evening Standard/Getty Images

Kate Bush in 1978. Although the success she enjoyed in the U.K. didn’t translate stateside, her influence is palpable on both sides of the pond.

When I was nineteen, I found two Kate Bush albums in a bin at my Catholic church’s annual rummage sale, alongside the debut from Siouxsie and the Banshees. I gave the lady with the cashbox three dollars, took them home and entered into an obsession. I’d never heard music like this before — music made by women that wasn’t strictly about falling for a guy, that instead ran on the fuel of wild feminine imagination distilled from myth and fairy tales, and fed by the isolation of being that weird girl in class that nobody knows how to befriend. That weird girl, me.

Read More>>

Comments are closed.

