Readin’ Machines!

James Floyd Kelly

I read a lot of books. A lot. I think my wife probably wishes sometimes that I’d take up cigarettes or drinking… it’d probably be a cheaper vice. My split is fairly even between fiction and non-fiction, but I also separately classify computer/technology books in their own category. I do this because I probably read as many computer books in one month as I do any other type of book combined — mainly for work (I’m a technology writer, so it helps to stay current) and also to learn new skills. And when I got my iPad? I knew I was in trouble after installing Nook, Kindle, and Google Books readers in addition to the Apple iBooks app.

But the good news is that I’ve actually managed to lower my spending on computer books in the last six months. And it’s all due in part to Safari Books and its service called Safari Library. If you’re already a subscriber, feel free to jump to the next GeekDad article, but if you’re not familiar with it, point a web browser to safaribooks.com and check it out.

Read More>>

Comments are closed.

